

BAY CONSERVATION AND DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

The below listed summary of seats, term expirations and membership information shall serve as notice of vacancies, upcoming term expirations, and information on currently held seats, appointed by the Board of Supervisors. Appointments by other bodies are listed, if available.

Seat numbers listed as "VACANT" are open for immediate appointment. However, you are able to submit applications for all seats and your application will be maintained for one year, in the event that an unexpected vacancy or opening occurs.

Seat #	Appointing Authority	Seat Holder	Term Ending	Qualification
1	BOS	VACANT (Supervisor Connie Chan resigned 2/25/25)	Indefinite	Member of Board of Supervisors (Districts 1, 2, 3, 6 or 10)
2	BOS	Supervisor Matt Dorsey	Indefinite	Member of Board of Supervisors (Alternate) (Districts 1, 2, 3, 6 or 10)

Membership and Seat Qualifications

Please Note: These seats are held by Members of the Board of Supervisors only; members of the general public may not be considered for appointment to this body.

The San Francisco Bay Conservation & Development Commission SF (BCDC) is a State agency consisting of 27 members, one Board (voting) member appointed by the Board of Supervisors whose district includes within its boundaries lands lying within the San Francisco Bay (Districts 1, 2, 3, 6, and 10). The appointed member selects an alternate who must be confirmed by the Board of Supervisors and must have the same qualifications as the member.

The composition of the members of the Commission is as follows: (a) One (1) member appointed by the Division Engineer, United States Army Engineers, South Pacific Division, from his or her staff; (b) One (1) member appointed by the Administrator of the United States Environmental Protection Agency, from his or her staff; (c) One (1) member appointed by the California Secretary of Business and Transportation from his or her staff; (d) One (1) member appointed by the California Director of Finance, from his or her staff; (e) One (1) member appointed by the California Secretary of Resources, from his or her staff; (f) One (1) member appointed by the California State Lands Commission, who shall be a member of that commission or from its staff; (g) One (1) member appointed by the San Francisco Bay Regional Water Quality Control Board, who shall be a member of that board (h) Nine county representatives consisting of one member of the Board of Supervisors representative of each of the nine San Francisco Bay Area counties, appointed by the Board of Supervisors in each county. Each county representative shall be a supervisor representing a supervisorial district which includes within its boundaries lands lying with San Francisco Bay; (i) Four (4) city representatives appointed by the Association of Bay Area Governments from among the residents of the bayside cities in each of the following areas: (1) North Bay--Marin, Sonoma, Napa and Solano Counties; (2) East Bay-Contra Costa County (west of Pittsburg) and Alameda County north of the southern boundary of Hayward; (3) South Bay--Alameda County south of the southern boundary of Hayward, Santa Clara County, and San Mateo County south of the northern boundary of Redwood City; (4) West Bay--San Mateo County north of the northern boundary of Redwood City, and the City and County of San Francisco. Each city representative shall be an elected city official; (j) Seven (7) representatives of the public, who shall be residents of the San Francisco Bay Area. Five of the representatives shall be appointed by the Governor and their appointments shall be subject to confirmation by the Senate. One of the representatives shall be appointed by the Committee on Rules of the Senate, and one by the Speaker of the Assembly.

The commission shall provide a politically-responsible, democratic process by which the San Francisco Bay and its shoreline can be analyzed, planned, and regulated as a unit. The Commission shall make a continuing review of all the matters referred to in Section 66603 and Section 66651. Powers and duties of the Commission are stated in Section 66600 et seq.

- Term of Office: Indefinite (not specified).
- Reports: The Commission has prepared a comprehensive and enforceable plan for the conservation of the water of the bay and the development of its shoreline entitled the San Francisco Bay Plan.
- Compensation: Section 66622. In lieu of reimbursement for attendance at commission or committee meetings, or at meetings in an official capacity as a commissioner, each member of the commission or alternate who is not a state or federal employee shall receive a per diem of \$100 per day not to exceed a combined total of four days in any one calendar month

Authority: Government Code 66620 & 66600 et seq.

Sunset Date: None

Contact: Lawrence Goldzband, Executive Director 375 Beale St., Ste 510 San Francisco, CA 94105 (415) 352-3653 larry.goldzband@bcdc.ca.gov Updated: February 26, 2025