

MUNICIPAL TRANSPORTATION AGENCY BOARD OF DIRECTORS

The below listed summary of seats, term expirations and membership information shall serve as notice of **vacancies**, **upcoming term expirations** and information on currently held seats, appointed by the Board of Supervisors. Appointments by other bodies are listed, if available. Seat numbers listed in **bold** are open for immediate appointment. However, you are able to submit applications for all seats and your application will be maintained for one year, in the event that an unexpected vacancy or opening occurs.

Membership and Seat Qualifications

Seat #	Appointing Authority	Seat Holder	Term Ending	Qualification
1	Mayor	Stephanie Cajina (first term) (Rides Muni – yes) (knowledge/exp. in government) (knowledge or exp. in public transportation)	3/1/26	At least four of the Directors must be regular riders of the Municipal Railway and must continue to be regular riders during their terms. The directors must possess significant knowledge of, or professional experience in, one or more of the fields of government, finance or labor relations. At least two of the directors must possess significant knowledge of or professional experience in, the field of public transportation. During their terms, all directors shall be required to ride the Municipal Railway on the average once a week.
2	Mayor	Emanuel Yekutiel (first term) (Rides Muni – yes) (knowledge/exp. in government and finance) (knowledge or exp. in public transportation)	3/1/24	
3	Mayor	Amanda Eaken (third) (Rides Muni – yes) (knowledge/exp. in government) (knowledge or exp. in public transportation)	3/1/27	
4	Mayor	Steve Heminger (second term) (Rides Muni – yes) (knowledge/exp. in government, finance and labor relations) (knowledge or exp. in public transportation)	3/1/27	

5	Mayor	VACANT	3/1/25
		(Rides Muni –)	
		(knowledge/exp. in	
		government, finance	
		and labor relations)	
		(knowledge or exp. in	
		public transportation)	
6	Mayor	VACANT	3/1/26
		(Rides Muni –)	
		(knowledge/exp. in	
		government, finance	
		and labor relations)	
		(knowledge or exp. in	
		public transportation)	
7	Mayor	Fiona Hinze	3/1/24
		(first term)	
		(Rides Muni and	
		paratransit – yes) pa	
		(knowledge/exp. in	
		government)	
		(knowledge or exp. in	
		public transportation)	

Seats are nominated by the Mayor, subject to confirmation by the Board of Supervisors.

(For seats appointed by other Authorities please contact the Board / Commission / Committee / Task Force (see below) or the appointing authority directly.)

Pursuant to Board of Supervisors Rules of Order 2.19 (Motion No. 05-92) all applicants applying for this body must complete and submit, with their application, a copy (**not original**) of Form 700, Statement of Economic Interests. Applications will not be considered if a copy of Form 700 is not received.

FORM 700 AVAILABLE HERE (Required)

https://www.fppc.ca.gov/Form700.html

Please Note: Depending upon the posting date, a vacancy may have already been filled. To determine if a vacancy for this Commission is still available, or if you require additional information, please call the Rules Committee Clerk at (415) 554-5184.

The Municipal Transportation Agency Board of Directors shall be governed by a Board of seven Directors appointed by the Mayor and confirmed after public hearing by the Board of Supervisors.

The composition of the MTA shall be as follows: At least four of the Directors must be regular riders of the Municipal Railway and must continue to be regular riders during their terms. The directors must possess significant knowledge of, or professional experience in, one or more of the fields of government, finance or labor relations. At least two of the directors must possess significant knowledge of or professional experience in, the field of public transportation. During their terms, all directors shall be required to ride the Municipal Railway on the average once a week. No person may serve more than three terms as a director.

The Municipal Transportation Agency shall include the Municipal Railway and the Department of Parking and Traffic. The goals of the Agency shall be: 1) to strengthen the MTA's authority to manage its employees; 2) to establish efficient and economical work rules and work practices to meet the public's needs; 3) to protect the Railway's right to select, train, discipline and layoff employees; 4) to ensure that transit vehicles move through City streets safely and efficiently; 5) to value and protect pedestrians and bicyclists; 6) to reduce congestion and air pollution through efficient use of the streets; and 7) to protect the City's economic health by giving priority to commercial deliveries and access to local business.

Directors shall serve four-year terms, provided, however, that two of the initial appointees shall serve for terms ending March 1, 2004; two for terms ending March 1, 2003, two for terms ending March 1, 2002, and one for a term ending March 1, 2001. Initial terms shall be designated by the Mayor. No person may serve more than three terms as a director.

Reports: The agency shall adopt achievement measurements and goals by July 1st of each

year and shall regularly publish reports on its attainment of the achievement of its goals. In addition, on a biannual basis an independent quality review of performance shall be conducted by an outside consulting firm and submitted to the Mayor, the Board of Supervisors, the Agency and the Citizen's Advisory

Council who shall each hold a public hearing on the report.

Authority: Charter, Sections 8A.100 - 115

Sunset Date: None

Contact: Christine Silva

Municipal Transportation Agency 1 South Van Ness Avenue, 7th Floor

San Francisco, CA 94103

(415) 646-4770

christine.silva@sfmta.com

Updated: June 30, 2023