Patrick Monette-Shaw

975 Sutter Street, Apt. 6 San Francisco, CA 94109

Phone: (415) 292-6969 • e-mail: pmonette-shaw@earthlink.net

March 20, 2023

San Francisco Board of Supervisors Rules Committee
The Honorable Matt Dorsey, Chair, Rules Committee
The Honorable Shamann Walton, Member, Rules Committee
The Honorable Ahsha Safai, Member, Rules Committee
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place
San Francisco, CA 94102

Re: Agenda Item #4, Board File #230053: Support of Re-Appointment of Larry Bush to Ethics Commission

Dear Chair Dorsey and Rules Committee Members,

I fully support Larry Bush's application for re-appointment to the Ethics Commission for a six-year term.

As you know, Mr. Bush served in city, state, and federal government, including for then Mayor Art Agnos' administration, and in public information at the U.S Department of Housing and Urban Development. Bush's long record of goodgovernment and open-government advocacy lead to his appointment on San Francisco's 2013–2014 Civil Grand Jury, followed by his five-year service on the Citizens' General Obligation Bond Oversight Committee (CGOBOC) between 2015 and 2020. In particular, Bush's work as a member of CGOBOC was stellar!

Larry co-founded *Friends of Ethics*, and has a long history of introducing and supporting ethics refom in our City. Mr. Bush was elected as Vice-Chair of the Ethics Commission in February 2022, which serves as a testament to his skills and qualifications to serve as an Ethics Commissioner.

Although I greatly miss Larry's frequent writing and publishing on *CitiReport*.com and for other media outlets — given his outstanding skills as a journalist — his public service has geen a tremendous gift to San Francisco. As well, Bush's 30-⁺ years fighting to hold City government and City officials publicly accountable has been a godsend for San Franciscans!

I urge you to unanimously approve the re-appointment of Mr. Bush to the Ethics Commission and forward a strong recommendation to the full Board of Supervisors to approve Larry's re-appointment to Ethics.

Respectfully submitted,

Patrick Monette-Shaw

Columnist/Reporter Westside Observer Newspaper

cc: The Honorable Aaron Peskin, Board President
The Honorable Connie Chan, Supervisor, District 1
The Honorable Catherine Stefani, Supervisor, District 2
The Honorable Joel Engardio, Supervisor, District 4
The Honorable Dean Preston, Supervisor, District 5
The Honorable Myrna Melgar, Supervisor, District 7
The Honorable Rafael Mandelman, Supervisor, District 8
The Honorable Hillary Ronen, Supervisor, District 9
Angela Calvillo, Clerk of the Board
Victor Young, Clerk of the Rules Committee