[Appointment – Foster Care Improvement Task Force

Resolution appointing Toby Eastman, Patricia Scott, Patricia Nelson Doyle, Connie R. Davis, Karey Fenderson, Joanna Uribe, Crystal Baik, Michele Byrnes, Maria Ramiu, Leona Cannon-Hunter, Lanette Scott and Bill Bettencourt, terms ending August 31, 2007, to the Foster Care Improvement Task Force, residency requirement waived.

RESOLVED, That the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco does hereby appoint the hereinafter designated persons to serve as members of the Foster Care Improvement Task Force, pursuant to the provisions of the San Francisco Administrative Code, Sections 5.300, and 5.305 as well as Ordinance No. 279-05; for the term specified:

Toby Eastman (residency requirement waived), new appointment, seat 3, must be a representative of a neighborhood organization from South of Market/Tenderloin, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending August 31, 2007.

Patricia Scott, new appointment, seat 5, must be a representative of a neighborhood organization from Western Addition, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending August 31, 2007.

Patricia Nelson Doyle (residency requirement waived), new appointment, seat 6, must be a representative of a neighborhood organization from Bayview/Hunter's Point, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending August 31, 2007.

Connie R. Davis, new appointment, seat 7, must be a representative of a faith-based organization, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending August 31, 2007.

Karey Fenderson, new appointment, seat 8, must be a representative of a childcare organization, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending August 31, 2007.

Joanna Uribe (residency requirement waived), new appointment, seat 9, must be involved in engagement and community planning, with expertise working with African-American and Latino families, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending August 31, 2007.

Crystal Baik, new appointment, seat 10, must be a representative from a domestic violence organization, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending August 31, 2007.

Michele Byrnes (residency requirement waived), new appointment, seat 11, must be a representative from an organization dedicated to serving emancipated youth, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending August 31, 2007.

Maria Ramiu, new appointment, seat 12, must be a representative of a foster care advocacy organization, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending August 31, 2007.

Leona Cannon-Hunter, new appointment, seat 13, must be a foster care parent, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending August 31, 2007.

Lanette Scott, new appointment, seat 14, must be an emancipated youth, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending August 31, 2007.

Bill Bettencourt, new appointment, seat 15, must be a representative of a child welfare organization, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending August 31, 2007; and, be it FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Board of Supervisors makes the following findings:

- The membership of the Foster Care Improvement Task Force has a goal to be representative of the diversity of the City and County of San Francisco.
- 2. Applicants Toby Eastman, Patricia Nelson Doyle, Joanna Uribe and Michele Byrnes, new appointees, who are not residents of San Francisco, are persons with experience that uniquely qualifies them to serve on the Foster Care Improvement Task Force.
- 3. The Foster Care Improvement Task Force has attempted to fill the positions, for which Toby Eastman, Patricia Nelson Doyle, Joanna Uribe and Michele Byrnes were nominated,

- 3. The Foster Care Improvement Task Force has attempted to fill the positions, for which Toby Eastman, Patricia Nelson Doyle, Joanna Uribe and Michele Byrnes were nominated, with individuals who are City residents and who have the specific experience, skills, and qualifications, but has been unable to do so at this time. The Rules Committee has certified that Toby Eastman, Patricia Nelson Doyle, Joanna Uribe and Michele Byrnes are qualified to serve on the Foster Care Improvement Task Force.
- 4. After exercising due diligence, the Board of Supervisors concludes that there are no other possible representatives, who are residents of San Francisco and who have the specific experience, skills, or qualifications possessed by these applicants, and who are willing to serve on the Foster Care Improvement Task Force at this time; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Board of Supervisors waives the residency requirement for Toby Eastman, Patricia Nelson Doyle, Joanna Uribe and Michele Byrnes, as allowed in cases where no qualified City residents, willing to serve, can be found, pursuant to Section 4.101 of the City Charter that requires person(s) appointed to boards, commissions, and advisory bodies established by legislative act of the Board of Supervisors to be resident(s) of the City and County of San Francisco.



City and County of San Francisco Tails

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Resolution

File Number:

061180

Date Passed:

Resolution appointing Toby Eastman, Patricia Scott, Patricia Nelson Doyle, Connie R. Davis, Karey Fenderson, Joanna Uribe, Crystal Baik, Michele Byrnes, Maria Ramiu, Leona Cannon-Hunter, Lanette Scott and Bill Bettencourt, terms ending August 31, 2007, to the Foster Care Improvement Task Force, residency requirement waived.

September 12, 2006 Board of Supervisors — ADOPTED

File No. 061180

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was ADOPTED on September 12, 2006 by the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco.

9/14/2006

Date Approved

Mayor Gavir Newsom

Clerk of the Board