Resolution No.

256-08

[Commending Theresa Sparks, Joan Benoit, Joey Cain, Julius Turman, Marvin Burrows, Erick Arguello, Evan Low, and the Gay Asian Pacific Alliance on their selection as grand marshals for the 38<sup>th</sup> Annual San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration and Parade.]

Resolution commending Theresa Sparks, Joan Benoit, Joey Cain, Julius Turman, Marvin Burrows, Erick Arguello, Evan Low, and the Gay Asian Pacific Alliance on their selection as grand marshals for the 38<sup>th</sup> Annual San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration and Parade.

WHEREAS, Since it began in 1970, the San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration and Parade has been the world's premiere Pride celebration for the LGBT community, now attracting more than one million people every year; and

WHEREAS, Every year, the San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration Committee honors several prominent members of the Bay Area LGBT Community for their leadership and commitment to LGBT equality and awareness by selecting them as grand marshals; and,

WHEREAS, This year, the San Francsico LGBT Pride Celebration Committee has selected Theresa Sparks, Joan Benoit, Joey Cain, Julius Turman, Marvin Burrows, Erick Arguello, Evan Low, and the Gay Asian Pacific Alliance to be grand marshals for the 38th Annual LGBT Pride Celebration and Parade; and,

WHEREAS. Theresa Sparks, who has been selected as the lifetime achievement arand marshal, is the highest-ranking Transgender official in the United States, serving as President of the San Francisco Police Commission, and has been selected by the national Out magazine as one of the "Out 100 LGBT Leaders in the United States"; and

WHEREAS. Joan Benoit has been the executive director of the Native American AIDS Project since 1999; and

Page I 5/9/2008

Supervisors Sandoval, Ammiano BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

## File No.

## **Resolution No.**

WHEREAS, Joey Cain served for many years as the President of the San Francisco Pride board and is currently co-chair of the Harvey Milk Memorial Committee; and

WHEREAS, Julius Turman is the first African American Co-Chair of the Alice B. Toklas LGBT Democratic Club and has served as Co-Chair of the Bay Area Lawyers for Individual Freedom (BALIF), which is a San Francisco Bay Area-based LGBT Lawyers Association; and

WHEREAS, Marvin Burrows co-founded Gays and Lesbians Organized for Betterment and Equality (GLOBE), which is a Hayward-based LGBT group, and is also involved with the Lavender Seniors of the East Bay and the Hayward-based Lighthouse Community Center; and

WHEREAS, Erick Arguello is the volunteer coordinator of AGUILAS, a San Franciscobased nonprofit agency that provides outreach and services to LGBT Latinos; and

WHEREAS, Evan Low is an openly-gay City of Campbell Councilmember and works as a District Representative for State Senator Elaine Alquist; and

WHEREAS, The Gay Asian Pacific Alliance, which was selected as the organization grand marshal, is a nonprofit agency that provides services and education to LGBT Asians and Pacific Islanders; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the San Francisco Board of Supervisors commends Theresa Sparks, Joan Benoit, Joey Cain, Julius Turman, Marvin Burrows, Erick Arguello, Evan Low, and the Gay Asian Pacific Alliance on their selection as grand marshals for the 38<sup>th</sup> Annual San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration and Parade.

Supervisors Sandoval, Ammiano BOARD OF SUPERVISORS



City Hall I Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Tails

Resolution

File Number: 080668

Date Passed:

Resolution commending Theresa Sparks, Joan Benoit, Joey Cain, Julius Turman, Marvin Burrows, Erick Arguello, Evan Low, and the Gay Asian Pacific Alliance on their selection as grand marshals for the 38th Annual San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration and Parade.

May 20, 2008 Board of Supervisors - ADOPTED

Ayes: 10 - Alioto-Pier, Ammiano, Chu, Daly, Dufty, Elsbernd, Maxwell, Mirkarimi, Peskin, Sandoval Absent: 1 - McGoldrick

File No. 080668

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was ADOPTED on May 20, 2008 by the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco.

Angela Calvillø Clerk of the Board Mayor Gave Newsom

5.23.00

Date Approved