

Resolution in Support of the SFMTA Transportation Development Act Article 3 Request for FY2017-18

WHEREAS, The San Francisco Board of Supervisors' Bicycle Advisory Committee supports the SFMTA Bicycle Program's identified needs and priorities for engineering and construction work on various bicycle projects to improve and enhance bicycling as a safe, viable transportation option; and,

WHEREAS, The San Francisco Board of Supervisors' Bicycle Advisory Committee promotes the safe sharing of public roadways; and,

WHEREAS, The Metropolitan Transportation Commission requires that each city and county request for Transportation Development Act Article 3 (TDA3) funds for bicycle network and pedestrian improvements be reviewed and approved by the local Bicycle Advisory Committee; and,

WHEREAS, San Francisco Public Works and SFMTA propose to split the funds available to the City and County of San Francisco in FY17-18 between the two departments, as they have in past years; and,

WHEREAS, The SFMTA plans to submit a claim for up to \$495,575 in FY17-18 TDA3 funds to the Metropolitan Transportation Commission for engineering and implementation of various Vision Zero Bike and Pedestrian Improvements,

WHEREAS, Public Works plans to submit a claim for \$247,788 in FY17-18 TDA3 funds to the Metropolitan Transportation Commission for preliminary engineering and design of curb ramps to be constructed at various locations throughout San Francisco, as required by the federal Americans with Disabilities Act; and,

WHEREAS, Public Works plans to submit a claim for \$247,787 in FY17-18 TDA3 funds to the Metropolitan Transportation Commission to repair public sidewalks at various locations throughout San Francisco; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, The San Francisco Bicycle Advisory Committee endorses and supports the City and County of San Francisco's FY17-18 TDA3 claim for these worthwhile needs.

Passed unanimously March 27, 2017

District 1 - Devon Warner, District 2-Charles Deffarges, District 3 - Marc Brandt, District 4 - Anne Brask, District 5 - Melyssa Mendoza, District 6 - Mary Kay Chin (Vice Chair), District 7 - Bert Hill (Chair), District 8 -Diane Serafini, District 9 - Catherine Orland, District 10 - Paul Wells, District 11 – Jeffrey Taliaferro

Bert Hill, Chair