PREPARED IN COMMITTEE 5/10/17

FILE NO. 170505 MOTION NO.

1	[Appointments, Single Room Occupancy Task Force - Dan Jordan, Sam Patel, Bruce Burge,
Angela Chu, Raul Fernandez and Jordan Davis]	Angela Chu, Raul Fernandez-Berriozabal, Chirag Bhakta, Diana Martinez, Clifford Gilmore, and Jordan Davis]
3	
4	Motion reappointing Dan Jordan, Sam Patel, Bruce Burge (residency requirement
5	waived), Angela Chan, and Raul Fernandez-Berriozabal, and appointing Chirag Bhakta,
6	Diana Martinez (residency requirement waived), Clifford Gilmore (residency
7	requirement waived), and Jordan Davis, terms ending December 31, 2018, to the Single
8	Room Occupancy (SRO) Task Force.
9	
10	MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco does
11	hereby appoint the hereinafter designated person to serve as a member of the Single Room
12	Occupancy (SRO) Task Force, pursuant to the provisions of Board of Supervisors Resolution
13	Nos. 459-06, 457-09, and 9-13, and Ordinance No. 28-16, for the term specified:
14	Dan Jordan, seat 1, succeeding themself, term expired, must be a SRO tenant, for a
15	term ending December 31, 2018.
16	Sam Patel, seat 2, succeeding themself, term expired, must be a private SRO
17	owner/operator, for a term ending December 31, 2018.
18	Bruce Burge (residency requirement waived), seat 3, succeeding themself, term
19	expired, must be a private SRO owner/operator, for a term ending December 31, 2018.
20	Chirag Bhakta, seat 4, succeeding Amelia Rudberg, term expired, must be a non-profit
21	SRO operator/owner, for a term ending December 31, 2018.
22	Diana Martinez (residency requirement waived), seat 5, succeeding Jadma Noronha,
23	term expired, must be a representative of the Mission SRO Collaborative, for a term ending
24	December 31, 2018.
25	

1	Clifford Gilmore (residency requirement waived), seat 6, succeeding Pratibha Tekkey,
2	term expired, must be a representative of the Central City SRO Collaborative, for a term
3	ending December 31, 2018.
4	Angela Chu, seat 7, succeeding themself, term expired, must be a representative of the
5	Chinatown SRO Collaborative, for a term ending December 31, 2018.
6	Raul Fernandez-Berriozabal, seat 8, succeeding themself, term expired, must be a
7	representative of the Families SRO Collaborative, for a term ending December 31, 2018.
8	Jordan Davis, seat 9, succeeding Nicolette Alexander, resigned, must be a SRO
9	tenant, for a term ending December 31, 2018; and, be it
10	FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors makes the following findings:
11	1. The membership of the SRO Task Force has a goal to be representative of the
12	diversity of the City and County of San Francisco.
13	2. Applicants Bruce Burge, Diana Martinez, and Clifford Gilmore, who are not a
14	residents of San Francisco, are persons with experience that uniquely qualifies them to serve
15	on the SRO Task Force.
16	3. The SRO Task Force has attempted to fill the positions, for which Bruce Burge,
17	Diana Martinez, and Clifford Gilmore were nominated, with individuals who are City residents
18	and who have the specific experience, skills, and qualifications, but has been unable to do so
19	at this time. The Rules Committee has certified that Bruce Burge, Diana Martinez, and

4. After exercising due diligence, the Board of Supervisors concludes that there is no other possible representative, who is a resident of San Francisco, and who has the specific experience, skills, or qualifications possessed by these applicants, and who are willing to serve on the SRO Task Force at this time; and, be it

Clifford Gilmore are qualified to serve on the SRO Task Force.

25

20

21

22

23

24

FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors waives the residency requirement for Bruce Burge, Diana Martinez, and Clifford Gilmore, as allowed in cases where no qualified City resident, willing to serve, can be found, pursuant to Charter, Section 4.101(a)(2), that requires person(s) appointed to boards, commissions, and advisory bodies established by legislative act of the Board of Supervisors to be resident(s) of the City and County of San Francisco.