

CITY AND COUNTY OF SAN FRANCISCO EDWIN M. LEE, MAYOR

OFFICE OF SMALL BUSINESS REGINA DICK-ENDRIZZI, DIRECTOR

October 10, 2017

Ms. Angela Calvillo, Clerk of the Board City Hall Room 244 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

OFFICE OF SMALL BUSINESS

RE: BOS File No. 170867 [Environment Code - Flame Retardant Chemicals in Upholstered Furniture and Juvenile Products]

Small Business Commission Recommendation to the Board of Supervisors: Approval

Dear Ms. Calvillo,

On October 2, 2017, the Small Business Commission voted unanimously (7-0) to recommend that the Board of Supervisors approve BOS File No. 170867. The Small Business Commission extends its appreciation to Supervisor Farrell, Kanishka Karunaratne, and the Department of Environment for engaging the business community and the Office of Small Business to obtain input and recommendations. A positive consequence of that engagement is that the revised legislation furthers health and environmental goals while minimizing harm to the small business community.

Like comparable bans, the legislation restricts sales by brick and mortar retailers in San Francisco. However, it also takes a notable step forward by acknowledging that online retailers should be subject to the same regulations. Regulating *only* brick and mortar retailers is a fundamentally flawed approach for one simple reason: consumers can easily circumvent such bans by purchasing goods online. This legislation anticipates and precludes that option, resulting in the more uniform application of regulations.

In closing, the Small Business Commission commends the legislative sponsors and the Department of Environment for developing a piece of legislation that is thoughtful of small businesses and mindful of retail trends. Thank you for considering the Commission's comments. Please feel free to contact me should you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Regina Dick-Endrizzi

Director, Office of Small Business

ZMDick- Lidenzi

cc: Mark Farrell, Board of Supervisors

Kanishka Karunaratne, Office of Supervisor Mark Farrell

Aaron Peskin, Board of Supervisors

Jeff Sheehy, Board of Supervisors

Deborah Rafael, Department of Environment

Swati Sharma, Department of Environment

Mawuli Tugbenyoh, Mayor's Office

Francis Tsang, Mayor's Office

Lisa Pagan, Office of Economic and Workforce Development

John Carroll, Public Safety & Neighborhood Services Committee