Historic Preservation Commission Resolution No. 919

HEARING DATE DECEMBER 6, 2017

Case No.

2016-013562DES

Project:

600 32nd Avenue (George Washington High School)

Recommendation to Board of Supervisors

Staff Contact:

Shannon Ferguson (415) 575-9074

shannon.ferguson@sfgov.org

Reviewed By:

Tim Frye – (415) 575-6822

tim.frye@sfgov.org

1650 Mission St. Suite 400 San Francisco, CA 94103-2479

Reception: 415.558.6378

Fax: 415.558.6409

Planning

Information: 415.558.6377

RESOLUTION TO RECOMMEND TO THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS ARTICLE 10 LANDMARK DESIGNATION OF 600 32ND AVENUE (AKA GEORGE WASHINGTON HIGH SCHOOL), ASSESSOR'S BLOCK 1574, LOT 001, AS LANDMARK NO. XXX

- 1. WHEREAS, on August 17, 2016, the Historic Preservation Commission added 600 32nd Avenue (aka George Washington High School), to the Landmark Designation Work Program; and
- 2. WHEREAS, Historic Preservation Consultants Christopher VerPlanck and Donna Graves, who meet the Secretary of Interior's Professional Qualification Standards, prepared the Landmark Designation Report for 600 32nd Avenue (aka George Washington High School) with a grant from the Historic Preservation Fund Committee, which was reviewed by Department Staff Shannon Ferguson and Tim Frye, who meet the Secretary of Interior's Professional Qualification Standards, for accuracy and conformance with the purposes and standards of Article 10; and
- 3. WHEREAS, the Historic Preservation Commission, at its regular meeting of October 18, 2017 reviewed Department staff's analysis of 600 32nd Avenue (aka George Washington High School) historical significance pursuant to Article 10 as part of the Landmark Designation Case Report dated October 18, 2017 and initiated Landmark designation process through Resolution 910; and
- 4. WHEREAS, the Historic Preservation Commission finds that the nomination of 600 32nd Avenue (aka George Washington High School) as a landmark is in the form prescribed by the Historic Preservation Commission and contains supporting historic, architectural, and/or cultural documentation: and
- 5. WHEREAS, the Historic Preservation Commission finds that 600 32nd Avenue (aka George Washington High School) associated with significant events, as it was built largely using Public Works Administration funds; and is architecturally significant, as it embodies the characteristics of the Streamline Moderne style, represents the work of master architect Timothy Pflueger, and exhibits high artistic values in its four New Deal murals and one outdoor frieze that were all sponsored by the Federal Art Project; and

- 6. WHEREAS, the Historic Preservation Commission finds that 600 32nd Avenue (aka George Washington High School) meets the eligibility requirements of Section 1004 of the Planning Code and warrants consideration for Article 10 landmark designation; and
- 7. WHEREAS, the Historic Preservation Commission finds that the boundaries and the list of exterior and interior character-defining features, as identified in the Landmark Designation Report, should be considered for preservation under the proposed landmark designation as they relate to the building's historical significance and retain historical integrity; and
- 8. WHEREAS, the proposed designation is consistent with the General Plan priority policies pursuant to Planning Code, Section 101.1 and furthers Priority Policy No. 7, which states that historic buildings be preserved, and will serve the public necessity, convenience and welfare pursuant to Planning Code, Section 302; and
- WHEREAS, the Department has determined that landmark designation is exempt from environmental review, pursuant to CEQA Guidelines Section 15308 (Class Eight - Categorical); and

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Historic Preservation Commission hereby recommends to the Board of Supervisors approval of landmark designation of 600 32nd Avenue (aka George Washington High School), Assessor's Block 1574, Lot 001 pursuant to Article 10 of the Planning Code.

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was adopted by the Historic Preservation Commission at its meeting on December 6, 2017.

Jonas P. Ionin

Commission Secretary

AYES:

Wolfram, Hyland, Johnsk, Johns, Matsuda, Pearlman

NAYS:

None

ABSENT:

None

ADOPTED:

December 6, 2017