Historic Preservation Commission Resolution No. 979

HEARING DATE: SEPTEMBER 19, 2018

1650 Mission St. Suite 400 San Francisco, CA 94103-2479

Reception: 415.558.6378

Fax.

415.558.6409

Planning Information: 415.558.6377

Case No.

2018-008827DES

Project:

Re:

22 Beaver Street (aka Benedict-Gieling House) Initiate Article 10 Landmark Designation

Staff Contact:

Shannon Ferguson (415) 575-9074

shannon.ferguson@sfgov.org

Reviewed By:

Tim Frye - (415) 575-6822

tim.frye@sfgov.org

RESOLUTION TO INITIATE DESIGNATION OF 22 BEAVER STREET (AKA BENEDICT-GIELING HOUSE), ASSESSOR'S PARCEL BLOCK NO. 3561, LOT NO. 060, AS ARTICLE 10 LANDMARK.

- WHEREAS, a community-sponsored Landmark Designation Application for Article 10 Landmark Designation for 22 Beaver Street was prepared by VerPlanck Historic Preservation Consulting and submitted to the Planning Department by property owner Imogene Gieling; and
- 2. WHEREAS, Department Staff Shannon Ferguson, who meets the Secretary of Interior's Professional Qualification Standards, reviewed the Landmark Nomination for 22 Beaver Street for accuracy and conformance with the purposes and standards of Article 10; and
- 3. WHEREAS, the Historic Preservation Commission, at its regular meeting of September 19, 2018, reviewed Department staff's analysis of 22 Beaver Street's historical significance per Article 10 as part of the Landmark Designation Case Report dated September 19, 2018; and
- 4. WHEREAS, the Historic Preservation Commission finds that 22 Beaver Street nomination is in the form prescribed by the Historic Preservation Commission and contains supporting historic, architectural, and/or cultural documentation; and

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Historic Preservation Commission hereby initiates designation of 22 Beaver Street (aka Benedict-Gieling House), Assessor's Parcel Block No. 3561, Lot No. 060, as a Landmark pursuant to Article 10 of the Planning Code.

I hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution was adopted by the Historic Preservation Commission at its meeting on September 19, 2018.

Jonas P. Ionin

Commission Secretary

AYES:

Wolfram, Hyland, Black, Johnck, Matsuda, Pearlman

NAYS:

None

ABSENT:

Johns

ADOPTED:

September 19, 2018