BOARD of SUPERVISORS



City Hall
Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco 94102-4689
Tel. No. 554-5184
Fax No. 554-5163
TDD/TTY No. 554-5227

MEMORANDUM

TO: Kanishka Karunaratne Cheng, Liaison to the Board of Supervisors

Jon Givner, Deputy City Attorney, Office of the City Attorney

John Arntz, Director, Department of Elections

LeeAnn Pelham, Executive Director, Ethics Commission Tom Hui, Director, Building Inspection Commission

Nadia Sesay, Executive Director, Office of Community Investment and

Infrastructure

Elaine Forbes, Executive Director, San Francisco Port Department Naomi Kelly, City Administrator, Office of the City Administrator

Jonis Ionin, Historic Preservation Commission

Robert P. Beck, Treasure Island Director

FROM: Victor Young, Assistant Clerk Legislative Deputy Director, Rules

Committee

Board of Supervisors

DATE: February 20, 2019

SUBJECT: INITIATIVE ORDINANCE INTRODUCED

November 5, 2019 Election

The Board of Supervisors' Rules Committee has received the following Initiative Ordinance for the November 5, 2019, Election, introduced by Supervisor Mar on February 12, 2019. This matter is being referred to you in accordance with Rules of Order 2.22.4.

File No. 190180

Hearing to consider the proposed initiative ordinance submitted by four or more Supervisors to the voters at the November 5, 2019, Election, entitled "Sunlight on Dark Money Initiative," an Ordinance amending the Campaign and Governmental Conduct Code to expand disclosure requirements for independent expenditure committee advertisements, prohibiting campaign contributions from limited liability corporations and limited liability partnerships, and prohibiting campaign contributions to candidates for certain offices from individuals associated with land use decisions that may be decided by those offices.

Please review and submit any reports or comments you wish to be included with the legislative file.

If you have any questions or concerns, please call me at (415) 554-7723 or email: victor.young@sfgov.org. To submit documentation, please forward to me at the Board of Supervisors, City Hall, Room 244, 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, San Francisco, CA 94102.

c: Mawuli Tugbenyoh, Liaison to the Board of Supervisors

Rebecca Peacock, Mayor's Office

Andres Power, Policy Director

Patrick Ford, Senior Policy Analyst

Lucinda Nguyen, Commission on Community Investment and Infrastructure

John Rahaim, Director

Scott Sanchez, Zoning Administrator

Lisa Gibson, Environmental Review Officer

Devyani Jain, Deputy Environmental Review Officer

AnMarie Rodgers, Legislative Affairs

Tim Frye, Preservation Coordinator

Andrea Ruiz-Esquide, Deputy City Attorney

Joy Navarrete, Major Environmental Analysis

Daley Dunham, Special Projects Manager

Amy Quesada, Commission Secretary

Kate Austin, Commission Secretary/Assistant to Treasure Island Director

Nikki Ivey, Administrative Assistant