1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

[Appointments, Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee - Vanessa Bohm, John Maa, Joi Jackson-Morgan, Roberto Ariel Vargas, Johnathan Butler, Janna Cordeiro and Derik Aoki]

Motion appointing Vanessa Bohm, John Maa, Joi Jackson-Morgan (residency requirement waived), Roberto Ariel Vargas (residency requirement waived), Johnathan Butler (residency requirement waived), Janna Cordeiro and Derik Aoki, terms ending December 31, 2020, to the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee.

MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco does hereby appoint the hereinafter designated persons to serve as members of the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee, pursuant to the provisions of Administrative Code, Article IV, Sections 5.20 and 5.21, for the terms specified:

Vanessa Bohm, seat 1, succeeding themself, term expired, must be held by a representative of a nonprofit organization that advocate for health equity in communities that are disproportionately impacted by diseases related to the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2020.

John Maa, seat 2, succeeding Kent Woo, term expired, must be held by a representative of a nonprofit organization that advocate for health equity in communities that are disproportionately impacted by diseases related to the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2020.

Joi Jackson-Morgan (residency requirement waived), seat 3, succeeding themself, term expired, must be held by a representative of a nonprofit organization that advocate for health equity in communities that are disproportionately impacted by diseases related to the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2020.

Rules Committee BOARD OF SUPERVISORS Roberto Ariel Vargas (residency requirement waived), seat 4, succeeding themself, term expired, must be an individual who is employed at a medical institution in San Francisco and who has experience in the diagnosis or treatment of, or in research or education about, chronic and other diseases linked to the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2020.

Jonathan Butler (residency requirement waived), seat 5, succeeding themself, term expired, must be an individual who is employed at a medical institution in San Francisco and who has experience in the diagnosis or treatment of, or in research or education about, chronic and other diseases linked to the consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2020.

Janna Cordeiro, seat 15, succeeding themself, term expired, must be a parent or guardian of a student enrolled in the San Francisco Unified School District at the time of appointment, nominated by the San Francisco Unified School District's Parent Advisory Council, and appointed by the Board of Supervisors, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2020.

Derik Aoki, seat 16, succeeding Lyra Ng, term expired, must be a person with experience or expertise in services and programs for children five years old and under, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 31, 2020.

FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors makes the following findings:

- The membership of the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee has a goal to be representative of the diversity of the City and County of San Francisco.
- 2. Applicants Joi Jackson-Morgan, Roberto Ariel Vargas, and Jonathan Butler, who are not residents of San Francisco, are persons with experience that uniquely qualifies them to serve on the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee.

1

- 3. The Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee has attempted to fill the positions, for which Joi Jackson-Morgan, Roberto Ariel Vargas, and Jonathan Butler were nominated, with individuals who are City residents and who have the specific experience, skills, and qualifications, but has been unable to do so at this time. The Rules Committee has certified that Joi Jackson-Morgan, Roberto Ariel Vargas, and Jonathan Butler, are qualified to serve on the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee.
- 4. After exercising due diligence, the Board of Supervisors concludes that there are no other possible representatives, who are residents of San Francisco, and who have the specific experience, skills, or qualifications possessed by these applicants, and who are willing to serve on the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee at this time; and, be it

FURTHER MOVED, That the Board of Supervisors waives the residency requirement for Joi Jackson-Morgan, Roberto Ariel Vargas, and Jonathan Butler, as allowed in cases where no qualified City resident, willing to serve, can be found, pursuant to Charter, Section 4.101(a)(2), that requires person(s) appointed to boards, commissions, and advisory bodies established by legislative act of the Board of Supervisors to be resident(s) of the City and County of San Francisco.



City and County of San Francisco Tails Motion: M19-034

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

File Number: 181098

Date Passed: March 05, 2019

Motion appointing Vanessa Bohm, John Maa, Joi Jackson-Morgan (residency requirement waived), Roberto Ariel Vargas (residency requirement waived), Johnathan Butler (residency requirement waived), Janna Cordeiro and Derik Aoki, terms ending December 31, 2020, to the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee.

February 25, 2019 Rules Committee - PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

February 25, 2019 Rules Committee - RECOMMENDED

March 05, 2019 Board of Supervisors - APPROVED

Ayes: 11 - Brown, Fewer, Haney, Mandelman, Mar, Peskin, Ronen, Safai, Stefani, Walton and Yee

File No. 181098

I hereby certify that the foregoing Motion was APPROVED on 3/5/2019 by the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco.

Angela Calvillo **Clerk of the Board**