1	[Commending Theresa Sparks, Joan Benoit, Joey Cain, Julius Turman, Marvin Burrows, Erick Arguello, Evan Low, and the Gay Asian Pacific Alliance on their selection as grand marshals
2	for the 38 th Annual San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration and Parade.]
3	Resolution commending Theresa Sparks, Joan Benoit, Joey Cain, Julius Turman,
4	Marvin Burrows, Erick Arguello, Evan Low, and the Gay Asian Pacific Alliance on their
5	selection as grand marshals for the 38 th Annual San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration
6 7	and Parade.
8	WHEREAS, Since it began in 1970, the San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration and
9	Parade has been the world's premiere Pride celebration for the LGBT community, now
11	attracting more than one million people every year; and
	WHEREAS, Every year, the San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration Committee honors
12 13	several prominent members of the Bay Area LGBT Community for their leadership and
14	commitment to LGBT equality and awareness by selecting them as grand marshals; and,
15	WHEREAS, This year, the San Francsico LGBT Pride Celebration Committee has
16	selected Theresa Sparks, Joan Benoit, Joey Cain, Julius Turman, Marvin Burrows, Erick
17	Arguello, Evan Low, and the Gay Asian Pacific Alliance to be grand marshals for the 38 th
18	Annual LGBT Pride Celebration and Parade; and,
	WHEREAS, Theresa Sparks, who has been selected as the lifetime achievement
19	grand marshal, is the highest-ranking Transgender official in the United States, serving as
20	President of the San Francisco Police Commission, and has been selected by the national
21	Out magazine as one of the "Out 100 LGBT Leaders in the United States"; and
22	WHEREAS, Joan Benoit has been the executive director of the Native American AIDS
23	Project since 1999: and

24

25

1	WHEREAS, Joey Cain served for many years as the President of the San Francisco
2	Pride board and is currently co-chair of the Harvey Milk Memorial Committee; and
3	WHEREAS, Julius Turman is the first African American Co-Chair of the Alice B. Toklas
4	LGBT Democratic Club and has served as Co-Chair of the Bay Area Lawyers for Individual
5	Freedom (BALIF), which is a San Francisco Bay Area-based LGBT Lawyers Association; and
6	WHEREAS, Marvin Burrows co-founded Gays and Lesbians Organized for Betterment
7	and Equality (GLOBE), which is a Hayward-based LGBT group, and is also involved with the
8	Lavender Seniors of the East Bay and the Hayward-based Lighthouse Community Center;
9	and
10	WHEREAS, Erick Arguello is the volunteer coordinator of AGUILAS, a San Francisco-
11	based nonprofit agency that provides outreach and services to LGBT Latinos; and
12	WHEREAS, Evan Low is an openly-gay City of Campbell Councilmember and works
13	as a District Representative for State Senator Elaine Alquist; and
14	WHEREAS, The Gay Asian Pacific Alliance, which was selected as the organization
15	grand marshal, is a nonprofit agency that provides services and education to LGBT Asians
16	and Pacific Islanders; now, therefore, be it
17	RESOLVED, That the San Francisco Board of Supervisors commends Theresa
18	Sparks, Joan Benoit, Joey Cain, Julius Turman, Marvin Burrows, Erick Arguello, Evan Low,
19	and the Gay Asian Pacific Alliance on their selection as grand marshals for the 38 th Annual
20	San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration and Parade.
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	