BOARD of SUPERVISORS



City Hall
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco, CA 94102-4689
Tel. No. 554-5184
Fax No. 554-5163
TDD/TTY No. 554-5227

July 31, 2020

To: Rich Hillis

Planning Director

From:

Angela Calvillo

Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

Subject: Appeal of California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) Determination of

Statutory Exemption from Environmental Review - SFMTA - Slow Streets,

Phase 1

As you know, in response to the challenges posed during this health emergency, we have been working diligently the last several months to stabilize the remote meeting system and establish processes to execute efficient, complex hearings at the Board of Supervisors. Now that we have reached confidence in the remote meeting system, we are resuming scheduling of the appeal queue. In order to alleviate deadline concerns due to the sizable queue, Mayor London N. Breed issued the Twenty-Second Supplement to the Declaration of the Emergency that provides the Board until September 30, 2020, to schedule all of the initial hearings for pending appeals. Upon receipt of your determination, we will move forward accordingly and schedule a hearing within the timeframe if it is deemed to have been filed timely.

An appeal of the CEQA Determination of Statutory Exemption from Environmental Review for the proposed San Francisco Municipal Transportation Slow Streets, Phase 1 project was filed with the Office of the Clerk of the Board on May 21, 2020, by Mary Miles on behalf of Coalition for Adequate Review.

Pursuant to Administrative Code, Chapter 31.16, I am forwarding this appeal, with attached documents, to the Planning Department to determine if the appeal has been filed in a timely manner.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Legislative Clerks Lisa Lew at (415) 554-7718, Jocelyn Wong at (415) 554-7702 or Brent Jalipa at (415) 554-7712.

Appeal of Statutory Exemption Determination SFMTA - Slow Streets, Phase 1 July 31, 2020 Page 2

c:

Anne Pearson, Deputy City Attorney Kate Stacy, Deputy City Attorney Kristen Jensen, Deputy City Attorney Corey Teague, Zoning Administrator, Planning Department Scott Sanchez, Acting Deputy Zoning Administrator, Planning Department Lisa Gibson, Environmental Review Officer, Planning Department Devyani Jain, Deputy Environmental Review Officer, Planning Department Joy Navarette, Environmental Planning, Planning Department Don Lewis, Environmental Planning, Planning Department Adam Varat, Acting Director of Citywide Planning, Planning Department Dan Sider, Director of Executive Programs, Planning Department Aaron Starr, Manager of Legislative Affairs, Planning Department AnMarie Rodgers, Director of Citywide Planning, Planning Department Jonas Ionin, Planning Commission Secretary, Planning Department Laura Lynch, Staff Contact, Planning Department Andrea Contreras, Staff Contact, Municipal Transportation Agency Julie Rosenberg, Executive Director, Board of Appeals Katy Sullivan, Legal Assistant, Board of Appeals Alec Longaway, Legal Process Clerk, Board of Appeals