BOARD of SUPERVISORS



City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244 San Francisco 94102-4689 Tel. No. 554-5184 Fax No. 554-5163 TDD/TTY No. 554-5227

September 2, 2020

David Pilpel 2151 27th Avenue San Francisco, CA 94116 Mary Miles 364 Page Street, #36 San Francisco, CA 94102

Subject: File No. 200903 - Appeal of California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) Determination of Exemption from Environmental Review - MTA -Transportation Recovery Plan: COVID-19 Emergency Temporary Transit Lanes and Bikeways Project

Dear Mr. Pilpel and Ms. Miles:

As you know, in response to the challenges posed during this health emergency, we have been working diligently the last several months to stabilize the remote meeting system and establish processes to execute efficient, complex hearings at the Board of Supervisors. Now that we have reached confidence in the remote meeting system, we are resuming scheduling of the appeal queue. In order to alleviate deadline concerns due to the sizable queue, Mayor London N. Breed issued the Twenty-Second Supplement to the Declaration of the Emergency that provides the Board until September 30, 2020, to schedule all of the initial hearings for pending appeals.

The Office of the Clerk of the Board is in receipt of a memorandum dated August 10, 2020, from the Planning Department regarding their determination on the timely filing of appeal of the Statutory and Categorical Exemption Determination issued by the Planning Department under CEQA for the proposed Municipal Transportation Agency's Transportation Recovery Plan: COVID-19 Emergency Temporary Transit Lanes and Bikeways project .

The Planning Department has determined that the appeal was filed in a timely manner (copy attached).

In accordance with Mayor Breed's Twenty-Second Supplemental and Administrative Code, Section 31.16, a remote initial hearing date has been scheduled for **Tuesday**, **September 22**, **2020**, at 3:00 p.m., at the Board of Supervisors meeting.

Please note, the President of the Board of Supervisors may entertain a motion to continue this Hearing to a future Board of Supervisors meeting date to be determined. Public comment will be taken on the continuance only. MTA - Transportation Recovery Plan: COVID-19 Emergency Temporary Transit Lanes and Bikeways Project Appeal - CEQA Statutory and Categorical Exemption Determination Hearing Date: September 22, 2020 Page 2

Please provide to the Clerk's Office names, addresses, and emails of interested parties to be notified of the hearing by Friday, September 4, 2020. Please also provide supporting documentation you wish to include for the hearing, by emailing an electronic copy by Thursday, September 17, 2020, at noon to <u>bos.legislation@sfgov.org</u>. Any materials received after this date, will still be distributed to all parties and be included as part of the official file. For the above, the Clerk's office requests electronic files be sent to <u>bos.legislation@sfgov.org</u>.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Legislative Clerks Lisa Lew at (415) 554-7718, Jocelyn Wong at (415) 554-7702, or Brent Jalipa at (415) 554 7712.

Very truly yours,

2 Cralles

Angela Calvillo Clerk of the Board

jw:ll:ams

Anne Pearson, Deputy City Attorney C: Kate Stacy, Deputy City Attorney Kristen Jensen, Deputy City Attorney Susan Cleveland-Knowles, Deputy City Attorney Julie Veit, Deputy City Attorney Corey Teague, Zoning Administrator, Planning Department Scott Sanchez, Acting Deputy Zoning Administrator, Planning Department Lisa Gibson, Environmental Review Officer, Planning Department Devyani Jain, Deputy Environmental Review Officer, Planning Department Joy Navarette, Environmental Planning, Planning Department Don Lewis, Environmental Planning, Planning Department Adam Varat, Acting Director of Citywide Planning, Planning Department Dan Sider, Director of Executive Programs, Planning Department Aaron Starr, Manager of Legislative Affairs, Planning Department Jonas Ionin, Planning Commission Secretary, Planning Department Laura Lynch, Staff Contact, Planning Department David Winslow, Staff Contact, Planning Department Jeffrey Tumlin, Municipal Transportation Agency Tom Maguire, Municipal Transportation Agency Ricardo Olea, Municipal Transportation Agency Sarah Jones, Municipal Transportation Agency Melinda Hue, Municipal Transportation Agency Ian Trout, Municipal Transportation Agency Kate Breen, Municipal Transportation Agency Janet Martinsen, Municipal Transportation Agency Joel Ramos, Municipal Transportation Agency Roberta Boomer, Municipal Transportation Agency Julie Rosenberg, Executive Director, Board of Appeals Katy Sullivan, Legal Assistant, Board of Appeals Alec Longaway, Legal Process Clerk, Board of Appeals