BOARD of SUPERVISORS



City Hall
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place, Room 244
San Francisco 94102-4689
Tel. No. 554-5184
Fax No. 554-5163
TDD/TTY No. 554-5227

MEMORANDUM

LAND USE AND TRANSPORATION COMMITTEE SAN FRANCISCO BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

TO: Supervisor Myrna Melgar, Chair, Land Use and Transportation Committee

FROM: Erica Major, Assistant Clerk, Land Use and Transportation Committee

DATE: January 12, 2021

SUBJECT: Interim Zoning Controls - Large Residential Projects in RC, RM and RTO

Districts (File No. 201370)

Pursuant to the City Planning Code Section 306.7, when Interim Zoning Controls are imposed by the Board of Supervisors and a hearing is held before a committee of the Board, the committee shall report to the Board of Supervisors a summary of matters presented at the hearing and its recommendation.

The following summary is being provided for the Committee Chair to present to the Board of Supervisors.

On January 11, 2021, the Land Use and Transportation Committee held a hearing on File No. 201370 regarding the Interim Zoning Controls - Large Residential Projects in RC, RM and RTO Districts. Supervisors Melgar, Preston, and Peskin were noted present.

Supervisor Peskin, the primary sponsor of the Resolution, presented information on how the legislation would require certain projects to go through the Planning Commission's Conditional Use procedures. Peskin spoke in specifics to the size requirements of proposed buildings under the Interim Zoning Control. Supervisor Peskin introduced a few clarifying amendments as well as an amendment to update clerical corrections. Aaron Starr from the Planning Department thanked the Supervisor Peskin for inviting the Department to make remarks on the Interim Zoning Control. Starr noted no official response from the Planning Department, but appreciate the direction of the legislation.

There were 11 members of the public who spoke on the item.

The Resolution was moved by Supervisor Peskin to the Board meeting on Tuesday, January 12, 2021, by the following vote:

Supervisor Myrna Melgar - Aye Supervisor Dean Preston - Aye Supervisor Aaron Peskin - Aye