

September 21, 2021

The Honorable Shamann Walton Board President San Francisco Board of Supervisors 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102 The Honorable Ahsha Safai Supervisor, District 11 San Francisco Board of Supervisors 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102

Re: Commercial Rent Relief Fund- File 210809

Dear President Walton and Supervisor Safai,

On behalf of the Building Owners and Managers Association (BOMA) San Francisco, I write to express my support for the COVID-19 Commercial Rent Relief Fund, file number 210809.

Small businesses play a crucial role in the vibrancy of our buildings and downtown San Francisco. Since the onset of the pandemic, our members have recognized the need to be proactive in keeping as many of our existing tenants as possible, engaging in good faith negotiations and entering into thousands of agreements that have restructured rent obligations under leases. We believe that the creation of this grant fund will be an important step in providing additional support to help tenants recover while also ensuring that landlords are able to meet their debt obligations too.

BOMA San Francisco's membership remains committed to working with impacted tenants and directing them to all the resources available to them during the economic recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic. Providing government relief for these impacted businesses is key. However, we also believe that continuing to foster a business-friendly climate that helps the businesses outside of this grant threshold will be crucial to this City's economic recovery as well. We look forward to working with you to find additional ways to support our members' tenants and the City's economic recovery. Thank you for considering this important legislation.

Sincerely,

John R. Bryant Chief Executive Officer BOMA San Francisco Cc: The Honorable Connie Chan, District 1 Supervisor
The Honorable Catherine Stefani, District 2 Supervisor
The Honorable Aaron Peskin, District 3 Supervisor
The Honorable Gordon Mar, District 4 Supervisor
The Honorable Dean Preston, District 5 Supervisor
The Honorable Matt Haney, District 6 Supervisor
The Honorable Myrna Melgar, District 7 Supervisor
The Honorable Rafael Mandelman, District 8 Supervisor
The Honorable Hillary Ronen, District 9 Supervisor