

City and County of San Francisco Meeting Minutes Rules Committee

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Members: David Campos, Michela Alioto-Pier, Eric Mar

Clerk: Linda Wong (415) 554-7719

Friday, June 25, 2010

1:30 PM

City Hall, Committee Room 263

Special Meeting

Present: 3 - David Campos, Michela Alioto-Pier and Eric Mar

MEETING CONVENED

The meeting convened at 1:43 p.m.

REGULAR AGENDA

100815 [Confirming the Reappointment of James W. Haas to the City Hall Preservation Advisory Commission]

Sponsor: Mayor

Resolution confirming the reappointment of James W. Haas to the City Hall Preservation Advisory Commission.

06/15/10; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Rules Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: James W. Haas; Judith Hoyem, SF Preservation Consortium; Allen Martinez; Starr Terrell, Mayor's Office.

RECOMMENDED AS COMMITTEE REPORT by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Campos, Alioto-Pier, Mar

100800 [Appointment, Planning Commission - Kathrin Moore]

Motion approving the President of the Board of Supervisors, Supervisor David Chiu's nomination of Kathrin Moore to the Planning Commission term ending July 1, 2014. (Clerk of the Board) (Section 4.105 of the City Charter provides that this nomination is subject to approval by the Board of Supervisors and shall be the subject of a public hearing and vote within 60 days from the date the nomination is transmitted to the Clerk of the Board. If the Board fails to act on the nomination within 60 days of the date the nomination is transmitted to the Clerk then the nominee shall be deemed approved.)

Transmittal date - June 14, 2010

06/14/10; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Rules Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Kathrin Moore; Charles Marsteller; Katherine Petrin; John Schlesinger; Kathleen Dooley; Karen Knowles-Pearce; Paul Warner; Jim Meko; Diadreth Howard; Jamie Whittaker; James Dianitis; Director Ridulivich; Female Speaker; Donna Tran; Dawn Trennert; Male Speaker; Commissioner, Planning Commission; Shawn Keicrine; John O'Conner; Rickie Hart; Peter Cohen; Bob Planthold; Walter Paulson; Hisashi Sugaya.

RECOMMENDED AS COMMITTEE REPORT by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Campos, Alioto-Pier, Mar

100801 [Appointment, Planning Commission - Hisashi Sugaya]

Motion approving the President of the Board of Supervisors, Supervisor David Chiu's nomination of Hisashi Sugaya to the Planning Commission term ending July 1, 2014. (Clerk of the Board) (Section 4.105 of the City Charter provides that this nomination is subject to approval by the Board of Supervisors and shall be the subject of a public hearing and vote within 60 days from the date the nomination is transmitted to the Clerk of the Board. If the Board fails to act on the nomination within 60 days of the date the nomination is transmitted to the Clerk then the nominee shall be deemed approved.)

Transmittal date - June 14, 2010

(Supervisor Alioto-Pier dissented in committee.)

06/14/10; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Rules Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Hisashi Sugaya; Andrew Shen, Deputy City Attorney; Judith Hoyem; Bob Hamaguchi; Charles Marsteller; Kathleen Dooley; Walter Paulson; Paul Murmer; Jim Meko; Jamie Whitaker; Dawn Trennert; Jerry Crowley; Peter Cohen; Male Speaker; Shawn Kegrin; Female Speaker.

RECOMMENDED AS COMMITTEE REPORT by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 - Campos, Mar Noes: 1 - Alioto-Pier

100637 [San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency - Appointments Policy and Other Procedures]

Sponsors: Campos; Mirkarimi, Chiu and Mar

Charter Amendment (First Draft) to amend the Charter of the City and County of San Francisco by amending Section(s) 8A. 101, 8A.102, 8A.104, 8A.105, 8A.106, 8A.107, 8A.108, A8.409-1, A8.409-4 and A8.428, and deleting Section and A8.404, to provide for split appointments to the San Francisco Municipal Transportation Agency (MTA) Board of Directors, allocate a share of property tax revenues to the Transportation Fund, require the MTA to resubmit an Agency budget if its budget is rejected by the Board of Supervisors, establish an Office of the MTA Inspector General, and eliminate formulas governing operator wages and benefit payments and subject these matters instead to collective bargaining.

05/18/10; ASSIGNED UNDER 30 DAY RULE to Rules Committee, expires on 6/17/2010.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Supervisor Ross Mirkarimi; Supervisor David Chiu; Supervisor Bevan Dufty; Nathaniel Ford, Executive Director, Municipal Transportation Agency; Ben Rosenfield, Controller, Controller's Office; Daniel Murphy; Dave Snynder; Tom Hilldritch; Male Speaker; Leah LaCroix, Youth Commission; Female Speaker.

CONTINUED TO CALL OF THE CHAIR by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Campos, Alioto-Pier, Mar

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 5:36 p.m.