

# City and County of San Francisco MEETING MINUTES

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

### **Budget and Finance Committee**

Members: Carmen Chu, Ross Mirkarimi, Jane Kim, Scott Wiener, David Chiu

Clerk: Victor Young (415) 554-7723

1:00 PM

4/6/2011

City Hall, Legislative Chamber, Room 250

### **Regular Meeting**

Members Present: Carmen Chu, Ross Mirkarimi, Jane Kim, Scott Wiener, and David Chiu

### **MEETING CONVENED**

The meeting convened at 1:15 p.m.

### **REGULAR AGENDA**

SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Supervisor John Avalos was noted present at the Budget and Finance Committee Meeting, constituting a quorum of the Board of Supervisors. A Special Board of Supervisors Meeting was convened at the hour of 1:18 p.m. for File Nos. 110225 and 110113.

Present: Supervisors Avalos, Chiu, Chu, Kim, Mirkarimi, Wiener

## 110225 [Park Code - Botanical Garden Non-Resident Fees] Sponsor: Mayor

Ordinance amending the San Francisco Park Code, Article 12, by amending Section 12.46 to: 1) extend admission fees to the Botanical Garden for non-San Francisco residents beyond June 30, 2011; and 2) eliminate the provision cancelling this admission fee if the Recreation and Park Department receives revenue from a new tax that can be used for Botanical Garden operating and maintenance costs, and make environmental findings. (Fiscal Impact.)

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Supervisor John Avalos (Board of Supervisors); Phil Ginsberg, General Manager (Recreation and Parks); Katharine Petrucione (Recreation and Parks); Harvey Rose (Budget Analyst); Mr. McKinchie (Botanical Garden Society); provided an overview and responded to questions raised throughout the discussion. James Brian; Sheryl Davis; Linda Green; Jacklyn Hale; Takai Tyler; Ms. Stock; Warren Robinson; Male Speaker; John Paul; Female Speaker; Mary Spoerer; Larry McNesby; Ms. Montoya; Ms Long; Rebecca; Michelle Mongan; Joseph Barbaccia; Jean Barrish; Eva Monroe; Barry Galvin; Monica Delventhaw; Jill Fox; Nancy Johnson; Vince Courtney; Ellen McCarthy; John Franklin; Verla Williams; Ms. Denero; Hal Nolgo; Ernestine; Don Verockie; Male Speaker; spoke in support of the matter. Bernie Wash; Aaron Peskin; Harbor Shrier; Kathy Howard; Lori Liederman; Walter Paulson; Michelle Mongan; Male Speaker; Jean Barrish; Bonnie Trestin; Susan Dumont; Rasa Gustaitis Moss; Karen Anderson; Barbara Toll; Richard Ivyhold; Dennis Moscove; Don Fletcher; Steve Zalco; Marilyn Cone; Mary Kane; Ms. Cushner; Jane Glasby; Harry Pririser; Nancy Johnson; Nancy Wuerfel; Male Speaker; Linda Lifecaster; Dennis; Male Speaker; Eric Brooks; Daniel Urgo; David Eldred; spoke in opposition of the matter. Gregory Reed; spoke neither in support nor opposition on the matter.

REFERRED WITHOUT RECOMMENDATION to the Board of Supervisors, by the following vote:

Ayes: 5 - Chu, Mirkarimi, Kim, Wiener, Chiu

# 110113 [Appropriating \$143,445 of General Fund Property Transfer Tax and Reducing Botanical Garden Fee Revenue for FY2010-2011] Sponsor: Avalos

Ordinance appropriating \$143,445 of General Fund from new property transfer tax and reducing botanical garden fee revenues, which will be rescinded as of the effective date of this ordinance, in the Department of Recreation and Park for FY2010-2011.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Supervisor John Avalos (Board of Supervisors); Phil Ginsberg, General Manager (Recreation and Parks); Katharine Petrucione (Recreation and Parks); Harvey Rose (Budget Analyst); Mr. McKinchie (Botanical Garden Society); provided an overview and responded to questions raised throughout the discussion. James Brian; Sheryl Davis; Linda Green; Jacklyn Hale; Takai Tyler; Ms. Stock; Warren Robinson; Male Speaker; John Paul; Female Speaker; Mary Spoerer; Larry McNesby; Ms. Montoya; Ms Long; Rebecca; Michelle Mongan; Joseph Barbaccia; Jean Barrish; Eva Monroe; Barry Galvin; Monica Delventhaw; Jill Fox; Nancy Johnson; Vince Courtney; Ellen McCarthy; John Franklin; Verla Williams; Ms. Denero; Hal Nolgo; Ernestine; Don Verockie; Male Speaker; spoke in support of the matter. Bernie Wash; Aaron Peskin; Harbor Shrier; Kathy Howard; Lori Liederman; Walter Paulson; Michelle Mongan; Male Speaker; Jean Barrish; Bonnie Trestin; Susan Dumont; Rasa Gustaitis Moss; Karen Anderson; Barbara Toll; Richard Ivyhold; Dennis Moscove; Don Fletcher; Steve Zalco; Marilyn Cone; Mary Kane; Ms. Cushner; Jane Glasby; Harry Pririser; Nancy Johnson; Nancy Wuerfel; Male Speaker; Linda Lifecaster; Dennis; Male Speaker; Eric Brooks; Daniel Urgo; David Eldred; spoke in opposition of the matter. Gregory Reed; spoke neither in support nor opposition on the matter.

AMENDED, AN AMENDMENT OF THE WHOLE BEARING NEW TITLE on Page 1, Lines 1, 3, 18, and 19, and Page 2, Lines 10 and 15, by reducing the appropriation amount from \$195,176 to \$143,445; and on Page 1, Lines 4-5, and Page 2, Lines 3-4, and 17, by replacing the effective date of the proposed ordinance from 'March 17, 2011' to 'the effective date of the ordinance', by the following vote:

Ayes: 5 - Chu, Mirkarimi, Kim, Wiener, Chiu

### REFERRED WITHOUT RECOMMENDATION AS AMENDED to the Board of Supervisors, by the following vote:

Ayes: 5 - Chu, Mirkarimi, Kim, Wiener, Chiu

Supervisor John Avalos was noted absent, thereby adjourning the Special Board of Supervisors Meeting at the hour of 5:10 p.m., and the Budget and Finance Committee reconvened with the same attendance.

### 110326 [Hearing - DCYF Budget Update for FY2011-2012]

Sponsor: Chu

Hearing for an update on the FY2011-2012 budget submission from the Department of Children, Youth, and Families.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: None.

CONTINUED to April 13, 2011, by the following vote:

Ayes: 5 - Chu, Mirkarimi, Kim, Wiener, Chiu

### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business, the Budget and Finance Committee adjourned at the hour of 5:18 p.m.

N.B. The Minutes of this Special Meeting set forth all actions taken by the Board of Supervisors on the matters stated, but not necessarily the chronological sequence in which the matters were taken up.

Approved by the Board of Supervisors on May 10, 2011.

Angela Calvillo, Clerk of the Board	