

City and County of San Francisco

Meeting Minutes

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Rules Committee

Members: Jane Kim, Sean Elsbernd, Mark Farrell

Clerk: Linda Wong (415) 554-7719

Thursday, July 7, 2011	1:30 PM	City Hall, Committee Room 263
	Regular Meeting	

Present: 4 - Jane Kim, Sean Elsbernd, Mark Farrell, and Scott Wiener

Supervisor Scott Wiener was appointed by the President David Chiu to serve on the Rules Committee effective at 3:45 p.m.

MEETING CONVENED

The meeting convened at 1:32 p.m.

REGULAR AGENDA

<u>110797</u> [Appointments, Ballot Simplification Committee - June Fraps, Betty Packard, and Adele Fasick]

Hearing to consider appointing three members, terms ending November 30, 2012, to the Ballot Simplification Committee. (Clerk of the Board)

Vacant seat 1, succeeding June Fraps, term expired, must represent the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, Northern California Chapter or the Northern California Broadcasters Association, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending November 30, 2012. Vacant seat 2, succeeding Betty Packard, term expired, must represent the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, Northern California Chapter or the Northern California Broadcasters Association, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending November 30, 2012. Vacant seat 3, succeeding Adele Fasick, term expired, must represent the League of Women Voters of San Francisco, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending November 30, 2012.

06/28/11; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Rules Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: June Fraps; Betty Packard; Adele Fasick; spoke on their qualifications.

Appointment of June Fraps, seat 1, recommended. Appointment of Betty Packard, seat 2, recommended. Appointment of Adele Fasick, seat 3, recommended.

PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

Motion appointing June Fraps, Betty Packard, and Adele Fasick, terms ending November 30, 2012, to the Ballot Simplification Committee. (Clerk of the Board)

June Fraps, seat 1, succeeding herself, term expired, must represent the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, Northern California Chapter or the Northern California Broadcasters Association, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending November 30, 2012. Betty Packard, seat 2, succeeding herself, term expired, must represent the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, Northern California Chapter or the Northern California Broadcasters Association, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending November 30, 2012. Adele Fasick, seat 3, succeeding herself, term expired, must represent the League of Women Voters of San Francisco, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending November 30, 2012.

RECOMMENDED. by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Kim, Elsbernd, Farrell

<u>110798</u> [Appointment, Entertainment Commission]

Hearing to consider appointing one member, term ending July 1, 2015, to the Entertainment Commission. (Clerk of the Board)

Vacant seat 1, succeeding James Meko, term expired, shall represent the interests of City neighborhood associations or groups, for a four-year term ending July 1, 2015.

06/28/11; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Rules Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: D. Gill Sperlein; Glendon Hyde; Lolita Sweet; Jim Meko; spoke on their qualifications. Sean O'Reilly; George Ridgely; Laura Thomas; Stephanie Ashley; Eddie Bell; Randy Delcourt; Coy Ellison; David Waggoner; Bill Carmichael; Brian Bosta; James York; Brandon Shucart; Judy Golden; Dee Leitner; Tom Temprano; Ivan Vera; Summerlea Kashar; Dain Percifield; Jason Smart; Kevin Bard; Kim Shree Maufus; Jon Owens; Kevin Hoskins; Judy B.; Simone Campbell; Skot Kuiper; Max Siegel; Supervisor David Campos (Board of Supervisors); spoke in support of applicant Glendon Hyde. Jazzie Collins; Anthony Faber; Marlayne Morgan; Kirstine Schaeffer; Sue Hagen Contreras; Gayle Rubin; Jim T.; Lisa Bass; James Joannides; John Nulty; Alice Piccus; Barry Synoground; Jamie Whittaker; spoke in support of applicant Jim Meko. Richard Magary; Steve Ernst; Chris Isaacson; Kimberely Fannity; Olive Bavins; Scott Oswarld; Christine Sampson; Supervisor Scott Wiener (Board of Supervisors); spoke in support of applicant D. Gill Sperlein. Shelly Tatum; spoke in support of applicant Lolita Sweet. Audre Joseph; spoke neither in support nor opposition of the applicants. David Lewis; spoke in support of various applicants. Michael Nulty; spoke in opposition of applicant Glendon Hyde. Appointment of D. Gill Sperlein, seat 1, recommended.

PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

Motion appointing D. Gill Sperlein, term ending July 1, 2015, to the Entertainment Commission. (Clerk of the Board)

D. Gill Sperlein, seat 1, succeeding James Meko, term expired, shall represent the interests of City neighborhood associations or groups, for a four-year term ending July 1, 2015. (Supervisor Kim dissented in Committee)

RECOMMENDED by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 - Elsbernd, Farrell Noes: 1 - Kim Non-Voting: 1 - Wiener

<u>110741</u> [Appointment, SRO Task Force]

Hearing to consider appointing one member, term ending December 31, 2012, to the SRO Task Force. (Clerk of the Board)

Vacant seat 9, succeeding Patrick Flanagan, resigned, must be a SRO tenant, for the unexpired portion of a three-year term ending December 31, 2012.

06/09/11; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Rules Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Victor Nelson; LJ Cirilo; Charles Pitts; spoke on their qualifications. Kendra Froshman; Jazzie Collins; James Leonard; spoke in support of applicant Victor Nelson. Glendon Hyde; Robert Weber; Ron Merrit; spoke in support of LJ Cirilo. Tomas Piccarello; Michael Nulty; Female Speaker; John Nulty; spoke in support of Charles Pitts. Adam Puffy; Matthias Mormino; spoke neither in support nor opposition of the applicants. Appointment of Victor Nelson, seat 9, recommended.

PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

Motion appointing Victor Nelson, term ending December 31, 2012, to the SRO Task Force. (Clerk of the Board)

Victor Nelson, seat 9, succeeding Patrick Flanagan, resigned, must be a SRO tenant, for the unexpired portion of a three-year term ending December 31, 2012.

RECOMMENDED.. by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Kim, Farrell, Wiener Absent: 1 - Elsbernd

110400 [Campaign and Governmental Conduct Code - Modifying Registration and Disclosure Requirements for Campaign Consultants] Sponsor: Wiener

Motion ordering submitted to the voters an ordinance amending Article I, Chapter 5, of the Campaign and Governmental Conduct Code, to modify registration and disclosure requirements for campaign consultants at an election to be held on November 8, 2011.

04/05/11; ASSIGNED UNDER 30 DAY RULE to Rules Committee, expires on 5/5/2011.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Supervisor Scott Wiener (Board of Supervisors); John St. Croix, Executive Director (Ethics Commission); spoke on the matter.

RECOMMENDED by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Kim, Farrell, Wiener Absent: 1 - Elsbernd

101574 [Elections Code - E-mailing the Voter Information Pamphlet] Sponsor: Mirkarimi

Ordinance amending the San Francisco Municipal Elections Code by amending Section 500, and adding Section 502, to require the Director of Elections to establish a process that permits voters to choose to receive the San Francisco Voter Information Pamphlet and associated materials by electronic means instead of by paper mail.

12/14/10; ASSIGNED UNDER 30 DAY RULE to Rules Committee, expires on 1/13/2011.

01/10/11; REFERRED TO DEPARTMENT. 1/10/11 - To the Department of Elections for comment and recommendation.

1/13/11 - Respond received from the Department of Elections.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: None.

CONTINUED to June 21, 2011 by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Kim, Farrell, Wiener Absent: 1 - Elsbernd

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 4:29 p.m.