

City and County of San Francisco Meeting Minutes Rules Committee

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Members: Jane Kim, Sean Elsbernd, Mark Farrell

Clerk: Linda Wong (415) 554-7719

Thursday, December 15, 2011

1:30 PM

City Hall, Committee Room 263

Special Meeting

Present: 3 - Jane Kim, Mark Farrell, and Scott Wiener

MEETING CONVENED

The meeting convened at 1:43 p.m.

President David Chiu appointed Supervisor Scott Wiener to serve on the Rules Committee in place of Supervisor Sean Elsbernd for today's meeting only.

REGULAR AGENDA

111291 [Confirming Appointment, Entertainment Commission - Bryant Tan]

Motion confirming the Mayor's appointment of Bryant Tan to the Entertainment Commission, term ending July 1, 2015. (Mayor)

(Section 4.117 of the City Charter provides that this nomination is subject to approval by the Board of Supervisors and shall be the subject of a public hearing and vote within 60 days from the date the nomination is transmitted to the Clerk of the Board. If the Board fails to act on the nomination within 60 days of the date the nomination is transmitted to the Clerk then the nominee shall be deemed approved. Transmittal date - 11/22/11.)

11/22/11; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Rules Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Bryant Tan; spoke on his qualifications. Alex Baty, GAPA; Asha Mehta, Executive Director, San Francisco Beacon Initiative; spoke in support of the matter. Walter Paulson: Douglas Yep; spoke neither in support nor against the matter.

RECOMMENDED by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Kim, Farrell, Wiener

111302 [Appointment, Entertainment Commission]

Motion appointing Tim Eicher, term ending July 1, 2014, to the Entertainment Commission. (Clerk of the Board)

Vacant seat 2, succeeding Timothy Benetti, resigned, shall represent the interests of entertainment associations or groups, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending July 1, 2014.

11/29/11; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Rules Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Tim Eicher; Steven Lee; Steffen Lippman; spoke on their qualifications. Dennis Juarez, Slims and Great American Music Hall; Jesus Lara; Commissioner Gregory Chew, Arts Commission; Tamika Wong; Wayne Hom; John Bellemore, Co-Owner, Q Bar and Midnights; Larry Metzger, SF Mix; Dennis Richards, President, Duboce Triangle Neighborhood Association; Chris Hastings, Lookout Bar and Castro After Dark; Alan Beach, Eureka Valley Neighborhood Association; Walter Paulson; Chris N., Producer, Flash Dance San Francisco; Crystal Wong; spoke in support of various applicants. Appointment of Tim Eicher, seat 2, recommended.

PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

Motion appointing Tim Eicher, term ending July 1, 2014, to the Entertainment Commission. (Clerk of the Board)

Tim Eicher, seat 2, succeeding Timothy Benetti, resigned, shall represent the interests of entertainment associations or groups, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending July 1, 2014.

(Supervisor Kim dissented in Committee.)

RECOMMENDED by the following vote:

Ayes: 2 - Farrell, Wiener

Noes: 1 - Kim

111266 [Appointments, Market and Octavia Community Advisory Committee]

Motion appointing Krute Singa, Michael Simmons, Peter Cohen, Kenneth Wingard, Dennis Richards, and Jason Henderson, terms ending December 16, 2012, to the Market and Octavia Community Advisory Committee. (Clerk of the Board)

Vacant seat 1, succeeding Marius Starkey, term expired, must be a resident renter and live or work within the Plan area, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 16, 2012. Vacant seat 2, succeeding Carmela Gold, term expired, must be a resident homeowner and live or work within the Plan area, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 16, 2012. Vacant seat 3, succeeding Peter Cohen, term expired, must be a low-income resident and live or work within the Plan area, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 16, 2012. Vacant seat 4, succeeding Kenneth Wingard, term expired, must be a local merchant and live or work within the Plan area, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 16, 2012. Vacant seat 5, succeeding Dennis Richards, term expired, must be a representative of an established neighborhood group and live or work within the Plan area, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 16, 2012.

Vacant seat 6, succeeding Jason Henderson, term expired, must be a member at large and live or work within the Plan area, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 16, 2012.

11/21/11; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Rules Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Krute Singa; Karen Knowles-Pearce; Dennis Richards, President, Duboce Triangle Neighborhood Association; Thomas Owens; Kenneth Wingard; Peter Cohen; Jason Henderson; Michael simmons; spoke on their qualifications. Alan Beach, President, Eureka Valley Neighborhood Association; Nik Kaestner; Tim Eicher; spoke in support of various applicants.

Appointment of Krute Singa, seat 1, recommended.

Appointment of Michael Simmons, seat 2, recommended.

Appointment of Peter Cohen, seat 3, recommended.

Appointment of Kenneth Wingard, seat 4, recommended.

Appointment of Dennis Richards, seat 5, recommended.

Appointment of Jason Henderson, seat 6, recommended.

PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

Motion appointing Krute Singa, Michael Simmons, Peter Cohen, Kenneth Wingard, Dennis Richards, and Jason Henderson, terms ending December 16, 2012, to the Market and Octavia Community Advisory Committee. (Clerk of the Board)

Krute Singa, seat 1, succeeding Marius Starkey, term expired, must be a resident renter and live or work within the Plan area, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 16, 2012. Michael Simmons, seat 2, succeeding Carmela Gold, term expired, must be a resident homeowner and live or work within the Plan area, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 16, 2012.

Peter Cohen, seat 3, succeeding himself, term expired, must be a low-income resident and live or work within the Plan area, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 16, 2012. Kenneth Wingard, seat 4, succeeding himself, term expired, must be a local merchant and live or work within the Plan area, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 16, 2012. Dennis Richards, seat 5, succeeding himself, term expired, must be a representative of an established neighborhood group and live or work within the Plan area, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 16, 2012.

Jason Henderson, seat 6, succeeding himself, term expired, must be a member at large and live or work within the Plan area, for the unexpired portion of a two-year term ending December 16, 2012.

RECOMMENDED.. by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Kim, Farrell, Wiener

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 3:52 p.m.