

City and County of San Francisco Meeting Minutes

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

City and School District Select Committee

Supervisors: Jane Kim, John Avalos, Mark Farrell; Commissioners Hydra Mendoza-McDonell, Rachel Norton, Jill Wynns

Clerk: Erica Dayrit: (415) 554-4441

Thursday, September 26, 2013

3:30 PM

City Hall, Legislative Chamber, Room 250

Regular Agenda

Present: 4 - Jane Kim, John Avalos, Commissioners Hydra Mendoza-McDonnell, and Jill Wynns

Excused: 1 - Mark Farrell
Absent: 1 - Rachel Norton

Supervisor Farrell Excused from Attendance

Commissioner Mendoza-McDonnell, seconded by Supervisor Kim, moved that Supervisor Farrell be excused from the September 26, 2013, Joint City and School District Select Committee meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 4 - Commissioner Mendoza-McDonnell, Kim, Avalos, Commissioner Wynns

Excused: 1 - Farrell

MEETING CONVENED

The meeting convened at 3:44 p.m.

REGULAR AGENDA

130751 [Hearing - Mission Promise Neighborhood Implementation] Sponsor: Kim

Hearing on the progress to date of the implementation of Mission Promise Neighborhood, the five year neighborhood initiative to improve education and create family economic stability for Mission District families, including request for information from the San Francisco Unified School District, the Mission Economic Development Agency, and the Office of Economic and Workforce Development.

07/16/13; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Neighborhood Services and Safety Committee.

09/19/13; TRANSFERRED to City and School District Select Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Victor Corral, Marco Montenegro, Luis Granados (Mission Economic Development Agency); Curtis Chan (Department of Public Health); Karling Aguilera-Fort, Assistant Superintendent, Mission Zone (San Francisco Unified School District); Kevin Rocap, Executive Director, School Improvement Grant Program (San Francisco Unified School District); Christopher Brown, Legislative and Government Affairs (PolicyLink); Patrice Guillory, Legislative and Government Affairs (PolicyLink); presented information and answered questions raised.

FILED by the following vote:

Ayes: 4 - Kim, Avalos, Commissioners Hydra Mendoza-McDonnell, Wynns

Excused: 1 - Farrell Absent: 1 - Norton

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 5:30 p.m.