

City and County of San Francisco Meeting Minutes

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Neighborhood Services and Safety Committee

Members: David Campos, Eric Mar, Norman Yee

Clerk: Derek Evans (415) 554-7702

Thursday, January 23, 2014

1:00 PM

City Hall, Legislative Chamber, Room 250

Special Meeting

Present: 3 - David Campos, Eric Mar, and Norman Yee

MEETING CONVENED

The meeting convened at 1:10 p.m.

REGULAR AGENDA

130982 [Hearing - Proposed Jail Replacement Project]

Sponsors: Campos; Avalos, Breed, Mar and Kim

Hearing on the proposed Jail Replacement Project to examine whether the jail construction plans are the most cost effective way to meet the short- and long-term needs of inmates with regards to safety, security, and access to social services.

10/01/13; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Neighborhood Services and Safety Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Supervisor Jane Kim (Board of Supervisors); Severin Campbell (Budget and Legislative Analyst's Office); Sheriff Ross Mirkarimi (Sheriff's Department); Brian Strong (Capital Planning Committee); Chief Greg Suhr (Police Department); Kyle Patterson (Controller's Office); Jaye Akin-Taylor, and Jim Buker (Department of Public Works); Nadia Sesay (Controller's Office); Chief Wendy Still (Adult Probation Department); Public Defender Jeff Adachi (Public Defender's Office); Chief Deputy Sheriff Matthew Freeman (Sheriff's Department); Cristine Soto DeBerry (District Attorney's Office); presented information concerning the matter and answered questions raised throughout the hearing. Micaela Davis (ACLU); Jennifer Friedenbach, Director (Coalition on Homelessness); Dorsey Nunn, Executive Director (Legal Services for Prisoners with Children); Laura Thomas (Drug Policy Alliance); Laura Magnani (American Friends Service Committee); Roma Guy (Taxpayers for Public Safety); Emily Harris; Hannah Mason (Californians Unified for a Responsible Budget); Harriet Sebastian; Jimmy Loyce (Congress of African Organizations); Aronica Chevern; Charles Minster; Mindy Kener, and Terry Anders (Anders & Anders Foundation); Manuel La Fontaine; Zoe Willmott; Michael Lyon; Vivian Imperiale; Penny Schoner; Reverend Glenda Hope (SafeHouse for Women); Angel Reed (California Coalition for Women Prisoners); Male Speaker; Adrienne Skye Robinson, Sarah Yassky, and Diana Block (California Coalition for Women Prisoners); Maisha Johnson; Pete Woi Wode (California Partnership); David Elliott Lewis (Mental Health Board); Gabrielle Bruce; Kimberly Rorhbach; Marlayne Morgan; Debbi Lerman (Human Services Network); Tynan Krakoff (Californians United for a Responsible Budget); Barbara Attard (National Lawyers Guild); Andrew Mendez; Commander Geoff Caldwell (San Bruno Police Department); Heidi Lewis; Tash Nguyen (University of California Student Association); Noah Miska; Rachel West (US Prostitutes Collective); Laurel Butler (Young Artists at Work); David Burruto (Office of San Mateo County Supervisor David Pine); Edmond Juicye; shared various concerns on the hearing matter.

Supervisor Mar noted absent at 1:20 p.m. and noted present at 2:41 p.m. Supervisor Yee noted absent at 2:42 p.m. and noted present at 2:50 p.m.

CONTINUED TO CALL OF THE CHAIR by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Campos, Mar, Yee

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 4:10 p.m.