

## City and County of San Francisco Meeting Minutes

City Hall
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place
San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

### **City and School District Select Committee**

Supervisors: Jane Kim, John Avalos, Mark Farrell; Commissioners Hydra Mendoza-McDonnell, Sandra Lee Fewer, Jill Wynns

Clerk: Derek Evans: (415) 554-7702

Thursday, February 27, 2014

3:30 PM

City Hall, Legislative Chamber, Room 250

#### **Regular Meeting**

Present: 5 - Jane Kim, John Avalos, Mark Farrell, Sandra Lee Fewer, and Jill Wynns

Excused: 1 - Hydra Commissioners Mendoza-McDonnell

#### **MEETING CONVENED**

The meeting convened at 3:37 p.m.

#### Commissioner Mendoza-McDonnell Excused from Meeting

Supervisor Farrell, seconded by Commissioner Fewer, moved to excuse Commissioner Mendoza-McDonnell from the February 27, 2014, City and School District Select Committee Regular Meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 5 - Kim, Avalos, Farrell, Fewer, Wynns Excused: 1 - Commissioners Mendoza-McDonnell

#### **REGULAR AGENDA**

#### <u>140142</u>

# [Hearing - Update on the 2012 Supplemental Appropriation to Fund a Credit Recovery Program for San Francisco Unified School District] Sponsor: Kim

Hearing to receive an update on the 2012 Supplemental Appropriation to fund a credit recovery program for San Francisco Unified School District (SFUSD) students at risk of not graduating in school year 2014-2015; and requesting SFUSD to present a progress update on how many students participated, current graduation rates, and how funding was spent.

02/25/14; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to City and School District Select Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Stephen Koffman, and Julie Chan (San Francisco Unified School District); presented information concerning the matter and answered questions raised throughout the hearing. Commissioner Ariel Yu (Youth Commission); Kevine Boggess (Coleman Advocates for Children and Youth); Faeza; shared various concerns relating to the hearing matter.

#### **CONTINUED TO CALL OF THE CHAIR by the following vote:**

Ayes: 5 - Kim, Avalos, Farrell, Fewer, Wynns
Excused: 1 - Commissioners Mendoza-McDonnell

## **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 4:29 p.m.