

City and County of San Francisco Meeting Minutes Rules Committee

City Hall 1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place San Francisco, CA 94102-4689

Members: Aaron Peskin, Rafael Mandelman, Connie Chan

Clerk: Victor Young (415) 554-7723

Monday, May 3, 2021

10:00 AM

Regular Meeting

Present: 3 - Aaron Peskin, Rafael Mandelman, and Connie Chan

The Rules Committee met in regular session through videoconferencing on Monday, May 3, 2021, with Chair Aaron Peskin presiding. Chair Peskin called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

Remote Access to Information and Participation

In accordance with Governor Newsom's Executive Order No. N-33-20 declaring a State of Emergency regarding the COVID-19 outbreak and Mayor London N. Breed's Proclamation declaring a Local Emergency issued on February 25, 2020, including the guidance for gatherings issued by the San Francisco Department of Public Health Officer, aggressive directives were issued to reduce the spread of COVID-19. On March 17, 2020, the Board of Supervisors authorized their Board and Committee meetings to convene remotely (via Microsoft Teams) and will allow remote public comment via teleconference. Visit the SFGovTV website at (www.sfgovtv.org) to stream the live meetings, or to watch meetings on demand.

Members of the public are encouraged to participate remotely via detailed instructions on participating via teleconference available at: https://sfbos.org/remote-meeting-call. Members of the public may participate by phone or may submit their comments by email to: victor.young@sfgov.org; all comments received will be made a part of the official record. Regularly-scheduled Rules Committee meetings begin at 10:00 a.m. on each Monday of month. Committee agendas and their associated documents are available at https://sfbos.org/committees.

As the COVID-19 disease progresses, please visit the Board's website (www.sfbos.org) regularly to be updated on the current situation as it affects the legislative process. For more information contact Assistant Clerk Victor Young at 1 (415) 554-7723.

ROLL CALL AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

On the call of the roll, Chair Peskin, Vice Chair Mandelman, and Member Chan were noted present. Member Chan was noted not present. A quorum was present.

AGENDA CHANGES

There were no agenda changes.

REGULAR AGENDA

210443 [Appointment, Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee - Dianna Cavagnaro]

Hearing to consider appointing one member, term expiring December 31, 2022, to the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee. (Clerk of the Board)

Seat 15, succeeding Janna Cordeiro, term expiring December 31, 2020, must be a parent or guardian of a student enrolled in the San Francisco Unified School District at the time of appointment, nominated by the San Francisco Unified School District's Parent Advisory Council, and appointed by the Board of Supervisors, for a two-year term ending December 31, 2022.

04/23/21; RECEIVED AND ASSIGNED to Rules Committee.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: Dianna Cavagnaro; spoke on their qualifications and answered questions raised throughout the discussion. Naomi Leguana; spoke in support of the appointment of Dianna Cavagnaro.

Appointment of Diana Cavagnaro, seat 15, recommended.

PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

Motion appointing Dianna Cavagnaro, term ending December 31, 2022, to the Sugary Drinks Distributor Tax Advisory Committee. (Clerk of the Board)

Dianna Cavagnaro, seat 15, succeeding Janna Cordeiro, term expired, must be a parent or guardian of a student enrolled in the San Francisco Unified School District at the time of appointment, nominated by the San Francisco Unified School District's Parent Advisory Council, and appointed by the Board of Supervisors, for a two-year term ending December 31, 2022.

Chair Peskin moved that this Motion be RECOMMENDED. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Peskin, Mandelman, Chan

210451 [Appointments, Veterans Affairs Commission - Jason Chittavong, George Ishikata, and Nicholas Rusanoff]

Hearing to consider appointing one member, term ending January 31, 2023, and two members, terms ending January 31, 2025, to the Veterans Affairs Commission.

Seat 2, George Ishikata, term expired January 31, 2021, must be an at-large appointment, for a four-year term ending January 31, 2025.

Vacant Seat 4, succeeding David Chasteen, resigned, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending January 31, 2023.

Seat 12, succeeding Margo Ellis, term expiring January 31, 2021, must be an at-large appointment, for a four-year term ending January 31, 2025.

Heard in Committee. Speakers: David Corpman; Elliott Johnson; George Ishikata; Jason Chittavong; Nicholas Rusanoff; Nick Bolen; Jospeh Baba; spoke on their qualifications and answered questions raised throughout the discussion. Mr. Martin-Pinto, Bill Barnickel, and Hanlen Chan (Veterans Affairs Commission); Speaker; Almarida King; Ms. Applepore; Miles Tucker; spoke in support of the appointment of various applicants. Kevin Keen; Brendon Down; Benjamin; Dr. James Vicker; Vincent Floyd; Speaker; Christina; Pearl; Speaker; Jeff Carr; Bill Clift; John Fentalli; Edwardo Kerton; Sam; Bob Petet; Darren; Speaker; Dave Redowski; spoke in support of the appointment of Nicholas Rusanoff. Justin; Patricia Chavez; spoke in support of the appointment of Nick Bolen.

Appointment of George Ishikata, seat 2, recommended. Appointment of Jason Chittavong, seat 4, recommended. Appointment of Nicolas Rusanoff, seat12, recommended.

PREPARED IN COMMITTEE AS A MOTION

Motion appointing Jason Chittavong, term ending January 31, 2023, and George Ishikata and Nicholas Rusanoff, terms ending January 31, 2025, to the Veterans Affairs Commission. Jason Chittavong, seat 4, succeeding David Chasteen, resigned, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending January 31, 2023.

George Ishikata, seat 2, succeeding themself, term expired, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending January 31, 2025.

Nicholas Rusanoff, seat 12, succeeding Margo Ellis, term expired, must be an at-large appointment, for the unexpired portion of a four-year term ending January 31, 2025.

Chair Peskin moved that this Motion be RECOMMENDED. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 3 - Peskin, Mandelman, Chan

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the Rules Committee adjourned at the hour of 11:34 a.m.

N.B. The Minutes of this meeting set forth all actions taken by the Rules Committee on the matters stated, but not necessarily in the chronological sequence in which the matters were taken up.